NFQ Framework

The NFQ is based on a system of 10 levels which caters for all levels of learning – from the initial basic stages to the most advanced. Its 10-level system provides a way of measuring the value of a given qualification and comparing it with other national and international qualifications. The National Qualifications Authority of Ireland is responsible for the establishment and maintenance of this framework and has identified a standard of knowledge, skill and competence for each level of the NFQ.

Click here to view the NFQ fan diagram.

The Following is a brief outline of the NFQ Framework levels:

Level 4 – 6     Further Education

Level 7 – 10   Higher Education


Level 7        Bachelors Degree

Level 8        Bachelors Degree (Honours)

Level 9        Postgraduate Diploma / Masters